Rice University logo
Top blue bar image SEL Studies in English Literature 1500-1900

Contact Us

SEL Studies in English Literature 1500-1900
Rice University MS-46
407 Fondren Library
6100 Main Street
Houston, Texas 77005-1827

Phone: 713-348-4697
Fax: 713-348-6245
Email: selweb@rice.edu

Elizabeth Dietz Memorial Award

The Elizabeth Dietz Memorial Award, established in 2005 in memory of Professor Dietz of Rice University, is given in alternate years to either the best recent study in English Renaissance literary studies or the best recent study in Tudor and Stuart Drama. The award consists of a certificate to the author and the publishing house and a monetary award to the author.

Elizabeth Dietz died of cancer in the spring of 2005. She had only been a member of the Department of English for a few years but she had come to mean a great deal to her colleagues in the department and the School of Humanities. She held creative writing and scholarly graduate degrees from the University of Iowa, and left a surprisingly forceful impact on the department and her students given the relative brevity of her time at Rice. Her courage in the face of successive illnesses and drastic treatments, her enthusiasm for Renaissance literature and art, and her devotion to her students moved her colleagues and friends to establish a memorial in her memory.
The award, made possible largely through gifts from her family and friends and resources from the Dean of Humanities at Rice University, is intended to honor Professor Dietz's capacity to inspire creative and innovative scholarship fully aware of the traditions from which it emerges.
 The award is sponsored by an endowed fund under direction of the Office of the Dean of Humanities and the Department of English at Rice University and managed by SEL Studies in English Literature 1500-1900. Those seeking more information about the award process should contact SEL at 713-348-4697.


2017 Award Recipient:

Henry S. Turner

 Rutgers University

for his contribution to Early Modern Studies

The Corporate Commonwealth:

Pluralism and Political Fictions in England, 1516-1651

University of Chicago Press

Read the full press release here.

Previous Award Recipients:
 2016: Zachary Lesser, University of Pennsylvania
Hamlet after QI: An Uncanny History of the Shakespearean Text
2015: Laurie Shannon, Northwestern University
The Accommodated Animal: Cosmopolity in Shakespearean Locales 
2014:  Brian Cummings, University of York
 Mortal Thoughts: Religion, Secularity, and Identity in Shakespeare and Early Modern Culture, Oxford University Press

2013:  Andrew Hadfield, University of Sussex
 Edmund Spenser: A Life, Oxford University Press
 2012:  Richard Dutton, The Ohio State University
 The Oxford Handbook to Early Modern Theatre, Oxford University Press  
 2011:  Gary Taylor, Florida State University and John Lavagnino, King's College London
 Thomas Middleton: The Collected Works and Thomas Middleton and Early Modern Textual Culture, Clarendon Press/Oxford University Press
 2010:  Margreta de Grazia, University of Pennsylvania
 "Hamlet" Without Hamlet, Cambridge University Press 

2009:  Alison Shell, Durham University UK
 Oral Culture and Catholicism in Early Modern England, Cambridge University Press 

2008:  Charles Whitney, University of Nevada – Las Vegas
Early Responses to Renaissance Drama, Cambridge University Press 
 2007: Robert Watson, University of California - Los Angeles 
Back to Nature: The Green and the Real in the Late Renaissance, University of Pennsylvania Press
 2006: Zachary Lesser, University of Pennsylvania
Renaissance Drama and the Politics of Publication: Readings in the English Book Trade, Cambridge University Press